SalaamGarage


My Doctor Visit: Update for India Trip Vaccinations by maggie soladay
August 7, 2009, 2:39 pm
Filed under: Getting Ready, India September 2009 | Tags: ,

Well, I have two sore upper arms now.
Doctor was great. Vaccinations, he said, are really up to the patient. You don’t have to get anything but it is good to be educated and ask for advice. (See my links and research in the previous post) Doc suggested I get Hepatitis A, Typhoid, and Tetanus/Rubella. Hepatitis B I got back when I was an undergrad and is only recommended if a person is going to be in any sexual or medical situations that could expose a person to Hepatitis B. Hepatitis A can be contracted through food. So, that was a no-brainer for me because I can’t help myself when it comes to amazing and sometimes dubious food.

I got two preventative prescriptions:
1. Malarone, an anti malarial course of antibiotics. It is a combination of Atovaquone and Proguanil. Doc said that he had a friend returning from Africa who stopped taking his course of Malarone the day he returned home, because he was feeling fine, and came down with malaria. One must follow the course prescribed. For me it is 2 days before my trip and for 7 days after I return.

2. Cipro, an antibiotic that targets Anthrax, Dysentery, Legionnaire’s disease, Typhoid, Yersinia enterocolitica. Doc said do not miss doses, see a doctor and only use Cipro to bide your time till you can see a doctor to be sure that what you have is bacterial.

there you have it! My arms hurt way more than the nurse said they would. But glad its over- I really don’t like needles. But I love traveling.

UPDATE:
Cipro cost only about $7. The Malarone, not covered by insurance, was $275 before my prescription card discount of $70. My prescription discount card was totally free from my Citibusiness Mastercard.

Great Article on not getting sick while traveling by the NYTIMES Frugal Traveler Matt Gross published on August 25, 2009 states:
Matt Gross’ doc, Dr. Morledge, says “being ill is not part of the travel experience.” If you plan appropriately and think strategically, he said, you can indulge in all the joys of low-budget travel from street food to hostels without getting sick or going broke.” Among the advi

-Maggie Soladay


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

how strange to read this .. clearly you are coming to an india in your mind, and not the real place .. lived here 15 years, never had a vaccination, never got sick ..

Comment by gregorylent

Thanks Gregory,
I know- your story should be everyone’s experience. Not getting sick is fantastic!
But, I am not only going to be in India, but Vietnam, Laos and possibly North and West Africa in the next year. We do work in remote areas. I weighed the pros and cons of vaccinations. I have never had adult vaccinations and been around the world already only getting occasional dysentery and altitude sickness. This time I decided to reconsider everything. I am thrilled you have never gotten sick. But many of us have and I decided it wasn’t worth risking after weighing all the info for and against. (not sure what you meant by coming to India in my mind, but of course i am already there. So excited to travel and help NGO Vatsalya in Jaipur). I wanted to share my research and personal choices since everyone I know preparing to travel has these questions.

Comment by maggie

hey all, whatever feels best is the right thing to do. cheers, amanda

Comment by amandakoster




Leave a Reply

